Revolutionary Sounds



07 Jun 2017
Time : 7.30pm
Venue : Kings Place, Hall One

Shostakovich Prelude & Fugue

Michael Finnissy Beethoven’s Robin Adair

Nathan James Dearden “It’s Not Working” World Premiere featuring soloists from RHUL

Beethoven String Quartet No. 15, Op. 132

Tippett Quartet

John Mills, Jeremy Isaac violins

Lydia Lowndes-Northcott viola

Bozidar Vukotic cello

Mary Dullea piano

RHUL Chamber Players

2017 marks the 100 year anniversary of the Russian Revolution. Tippett Quartet celebrates this with the world premiere of “It’s Not Working” by Nathan James Dearden. A fantastic work based on Selina Nwulu’s (Young Poet Laureate for London) entitled Foreign.

After a trip to Leipzig as a Russian cultural ambassador, Shostakovich set about composing his own cycle of 24 Preludes and Fugues looking back at JS Bach’s The Well Tempered Clavier. We begin the concert with a wonderful Prelude and Fugue.

We then move to Michael Finnissy’s Beethoven’s Robin Adair. Most of Beethoven’s folksong settings are of Scottish and Irish melodies, The Robin Adair is the 7th of a set of 12 and is inspirationally reimagined by Finnissy.

We end the programme with one of the greatest gems from the string quartet repertoire: String Quartet No. 15, Op. 132 by Beethoven – a true revolutionary.